TMI Tweets

For some time now, I have been a Twitter addict. Tweetie is my application of choice, and I am scared to guess at the number of times I check it on an hourly basis. I love to follow news organizations and celebrities, as well as a few friends and acquaintances. Normally, my friends/acquaintances’ tweets do little to grab my attention. However, recently, I have been noticing quite a few that cross the line over into the land of too much information.

One person I follow tweeted about her ex-boyfriend calling her. Another about their drunken escapades. And another about drama at the bar. It’s one thing to tweet about what you’re doing, like laundry or studying for example. It’s a completely different situation to tweet about your personal life. This information is out there for all the world to see. Why would you want all of the world to see some of these things? Especially as college students who will soon be on the job market.

So, to my fellow tweeters: if you wouldn’t want your grandmother to read your tweets, you shouldn’t be posting them at all.

One response to “TMI Tweets

  1. Until recently, personal tweets wouldn’t be that big of a deal, but now you are going to be able to search tweets, which means they will now exist in cyberspace for ever and can be found.

Leave a Reply

