My Celebrity Friends

When I began tweeting, I mainly followed news organizations and political figures, but it didn’t take me long to discover the world of celebrity tweeting.  It began with Ashton, Demi and John Mayer.  Their posts we’re entertaining but also seemed to have some sort of cultural value.  Then I found Lauren Conrad, the cast of the Hills, and the whole Kardashian family.  Now, it seems like I’m following half of 90210.

In high school, I had a severe addiction to tabloids.  Each week, I would purchase People, Life & Style, InTouch, and my bible…US Weekly.  I read them from cover to cover and always knew the latest gossip.  When I came to college, I no longer had the time or funds to feed this addiction, and until twitter, I honestly hadn’t thought much about what my friends out in Hollywood had been up to.  Now, I literally spend hours each day reading their posts…really not ok.

The saddest part about this whole situation is the fact that Twitter makes me feel like I am actually friends with these people.  Last night, after watching the Hills, I immediately checked out each character’s tweets. (further proving my point, these people are characters!)  Jayde had already posted about the latest drama, and today, Brody had done the same.  My roommate and I spent at least an hour discussing their entire situation, as if we would be meeting them for coffee soon to offer our advice.

I have become a huge fan of twitter over the past few months, and while it does cause me to waste many priceless minutes, I will not be giving up the addiction any time soon…I just need to find some sort of balance between my friends in the celebrity realm and my friends who offer information relevant to my life.

Does anyone else have this problem??

Leave a Reply

